Goals and Aspirations

I feel like New Year Resolutions are like many things – people either swear by them, or hate them. Personally, I find the new year really refreshing. I always try to use it to reflect on the past year, and to make goals for the upcoming one. I use “goals” because I want them to be realistic, and have real constructive purpose. This year, I may also try to do monthly goals. A favorite blogger of mine does them, and it’s something I’ve wanted to adopt. So here they are:

2012

Get a local business, company, or charity to let me work on their social media. I am really interested in making this a career for myself, and I think that starting out by offering to do it for free should help. I’d like to do two to three for free (hopefully find the first this month) and have at least two paid by the end of the year.

Get a job. I’ve been offered a position with Women CEO Project. I’m so excited abut this! Kristi seems like such an amazing business woman, and this is really the exact thing I’ve been hoping to do with my life. I’m starting off part time, and I know that it will be hard work and I’ll have some serious learning to do, but I can’t wait!

Keep better track of the things that happen in my life. Big and small. (Hello, personal blog!)

Have another tripped booked by the end of the year. I don’t know if this is super realistic, but it’s nice to try!

Work on saving money to pay down our student loans.

Read more. On topics I’m interested in, on things pertaining to my career.

via Nikki McClure

And now for January:

Create a budget spreadsheet – I don’t know if I’m really doing this just because I think I should. It seems funny that we don’t have one, since I really am very frugal. The thing is, I don’t do well with percentages, so I just put a chunk of money into savings regularly, and let the rest fall where they may.

Learn more about WordPress – I’m using it as a blog, obvi, but people seem to also use it as a website platform. I would like to really know how to use it to the most advantages.

Send out one offer to do Social Media for free.

Create a habit of making sure all of my events/commitments go into a calendar. Preferably two – my iphone and google. This way I can maximize my time, and keep track of things.

Leave a Reply

