Making the Most of My Time

I’ve been unemployed since October, and it didn’t take long for me to figure out that I am not good at just sitting. I need to be productive. So I started volunteering at The Women’s Home – a local long term shelter that helps women in crisis.

It’s been such an amazing experience! I did a little bit of whatever they needed – stuffing envelopes, packaging pecans and decorating for Christmas. The different activities kept it fun, and I met some really great people – other volunteers, the staff, and the women that lived there.

Hopefully I can become active in their Young Professionals group, as well as continue to be involved in other opportunities. This has been one of the biggest advantages to not having a job right now. When i was in college I was pretty active, and I love to volunteer. But it’s so easy to get caught up in every day life and not take the time to seek out fitting opportunities.

Leave a Reply

