Simple Shell Recipe

I have this problem. I want to take pictures of the food I make, so I can post the recipe and have a visual. Because a visual makes the food so much more appealing. But I forget. Or, in this case, I took two “before” pictures, and one was blurry and lopsided.

But I’ll share the recipe anyway. Because it’s super easy, but one that feels a little fancier when done.

Here’s what you need:

1 box jumbo pasta shells

1 tub of ricotta cheese (smaller size)

Half a bag of frozen spinach

1 egg

1 Cup Mozzarella

Pasta Sauce

Step 1 – Boil the shells. I usually use about half the box.

Step 2 – Combine the ricotta, spinach, egg, and mozzarella in a bowl. This is why I love this recipe because you can do whatever you want here, really. One time I forgot the egg, and things turned out. Sometimes I’ll add mushrooms. Most recently I substituted mozzarella for shredded parmesan.  You should also add some Italian seasoning if you have it.

Step 3 – Pour a little sauce into the bottom of a baking pan. Stuff the shells and place them in a pan. If you pinch the ends a little, they should open pretty nicely.

Step 4 – Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. And then eat them.

See? Really simple. Stuffing them can take a little bit of time, but it’s usually not too bad. Half the box generally makes enough for two people plus some leftovers.

Leave a Reply

