Easy Veggie Lentil Stew

I’ve never really cooked with lentils. I kind of like them, I just wasn’t really sure how to cook them or what to make. But I then I sort of mashed up some recipes and made this crockpot stew. Totally a keeper.

  • 1.5 cups red lentils
  • 2 cups carrots – baby or regular will work
  • 2-3 stalks of celery (stalks meaning one of the stems that comes in a bunch…is stem the right name?)
  • 3 cans vegetable broth (or equivalent in the boxed variety, or if you’re fancy and make your own)
  • ½ red onion
  • 1 can Italian style stewed tomato
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 bay leaf
  • ½ cup greens (I used frozen spinach, but I think you could also throw in kale, etc)

Soak the lentils over night. Throw everything in the crock pot. Add in some salt, pepper, thyme and dill if you have it on hand. Cook for 8 hours on low. Eat topped with some cheese (or not, if you’re going for a vegan thing).

That’s it! And the lentils and garlic are actually a ballpark. Also, do you guys know how cheap lentils are? I bought them in the bulk section and it was like 70 cents for what must be 2.5 cups of dried lentils. It smells great, and it was pretty hearty and has plenty of veggies. Even Gabe liked it (though admittedly, not as much as I did) which is always a big deal to me when a dish has no meat.

Leave a Reply

