Rodeo Season

The Rodeo is so Texan I can’t help but be fascinated by it. I’m not totally into the “Texas” culture thing as whole but it’s a little hard not to be fascinated by the rodeo. This year I really dove in, at least as much as possible without buying a pair of cowboy boots. I’ve been to the cook off, a concert and the actual rodeo, and spent a day walking around the fairgrounds (the first two with work – major job perks!)

For anyone outside of the area, the cook off kicks off the rodeo and is pretty much exactly what it sounds like. Then each night there’s the rodeo (bull riding, barrel racing, etc) and a concert. Outside of this there are also fair rides, games, and fried anything you can imagine.

 IMG_1724 IMG_1733

Since the second time I went straight to the rodeo/concert and the third time I did fair/food but no concert it was a little different each time. My advice to anyone going, though, is to wear comfortable shoes and be well versed in a map.

IMG_1745 IMG_1753 IMG_1749

The rodeo part is truly an experience. I’d never really seen anything like it, in real life at least.

 

He was terrified.

He was terrified.

IMG_1850

The fair was great too. We witnessed a sheep being born, rode the Farris Wheel and devoured some fried cheesecake.

One thought on “Rodeo Season

  1. You almost make me want to go, it looks like fun! I haven’t been since I was little, I bet it’s a bit of a different experience as a grown up!

Leave a Reply

