2013 Trip to Boston

I have family in the Boston area, so I try to make it up there once a year. We spend most of the time with family and not site seeing (though we’ve seen most of the major attractions in Boston). We actually went over a month ago and I haven’t posted about yet. I don’t know where the time goes!

Our  day trip into the city included Copley Square an d Fanueil Hall. I also really wanted to go to the Isabella Stewart Gardner museum, but all the walking took a bigger toll on me than I thought.

It will make me sounds like a total nerd, but honestly the Boston Public Library was a great stop. I hadn’t been inside before, and it was really a beautiful building.

 IMG_1785 IMG_1787

The place has been around since the 1800s so the architecture and décor is really beautiful. We just wandered around and ran into a room with books from Europe dating back to the 1200s, and a room of books and memorabilia entirely donated to Joan of Arc.

Really the whole place looks like what you see in a movie.

From the library we walked across the street to Trinity Church. Again, we’d been to the outside but last time we were there they had a service so we couldn’t go in.

 IMG_1793

I don’t have any pictures from the inside of the church because at first they wanted $7 a person to go in, and I’ve never paid to go into a church and didn’t think I was about to start. But they told us you could go in a pray for free as long as we didn’t take any photos. It’s worth a look inside, they also have a crazy huge organ in the back.

Fanueil Hall and Quincy Market is a pretty standard tourist stop, I think, but there’s a lot to see and a good place to pick up some souvenirs. We did do some more exploring and ended up a park ranger type guy telling us more about the history of the building, so that was new.

 IMG_1795 IMG_1802 IMG_1805

If you’ve never been to Boston, I’d really recommend just walking the freedom trail. We did a little bit of that before heading back to my grandparents house.

IMG_1811

We also went apple picking ( I mean, apple picking in the fall in New England? Total bucket list moment) and played some old arcade games in Salem.

 

IMG_1818 IMG_1829

Food is a seriously important part of every tip too. You probably know to try to clam chowder when you visit, and that’s spot on. My list also includes a solid roast beef sandwich, and Chinese food. I don’t know what’s different about the Chinese food, honestly, but the roast beef is not something I’ve found down here. It’s rare-ish and sliced very thin, and usually comes with some sort of sauce. So good.

It’s always hard to leave though.

IMG_1812

Leave a Reply

