Phase I – Check!

Well we’ve officially completed “Phase I” and are cleared for Phase II – the Home Study.

Our last class was Policies and Procedures, which I thought would be pretty light, but was pretty intense. We were immediately handed a binder that was several inches thick, full of the rules and regulations. It’s really got everything from what to do if you leave town, medication, trampoline rules..seriously, everything.

We also went over the visits from our case workers (there’s a different name for that, but it’s totally slipping my mind right now), as well as parental visits and drop-ins from CPS. That seemed a little overwhelming, but I’m sure it sounds like a lot more than it actually is.

I also went to get my TB test – a really sort of odd requirement in this process. I went to get it at Walgreens, which seems simple enough. But the way the test works is that they inject something in your skin and you actually have to return in 48-72 hours for them to read it. So, that means two trips.

So, now we are just waiting for someone to follow up with us on scheduling the home study!

Leave a Reply

